NSCAD Library: DSGN 3021 Design Studio 3: Home

NSCAD Library Resources

Art and Architecture Source (prev. ArtSource) This link opens in a new window
Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
ARTStor This link opens in a new window
ARTStor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

To get started with Artstor check out the NSCAD Artstor Library guide here
Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
More than 110,000 annotated references from 450 design and craft journals published between 1973–2001, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is an independent database containing over 15 000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering the areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.
JSTOR (now includes ArtSTOR) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico.

Open Access Resources

Citizen Science / Crowd Sourced Sites

Mushroom Observer
Citizen science site which gather observations about mushrooms from both researchers and the general public mushrooms.
Registration for free account required to access site materials.
Mushroom Expert
Citizen science which tracks and describes detailed characteristics of mushrooms.
Helpful glossary https://www.mushroomexpert.com/glossary.html

Academic Sites

GlobalFungi
The idea behind this the GlobalFungi Database is to provide everyone the access to published data on fungal community composition obtained by nexthigh-throughputgeneration-sequencing through a web web-based interface that allows various queries of the database and visualization of the results. This idea was conceived by a group of researchers from the Institute of Microbiology of the Czech Academy of Sciences in Prague – the GlobalFungi team.
Google Scholar
Mycology Collections data Portal
The Mycology Collections data Portal (MyCoPortal) is more than just a web site - it is a suite of user-friendly, web-based data access technologies to aid taxonomists, field biologists, ecologists, educators, and citizen scientists in the study of fungal diversity. The data are derived from a network of universities, botanical gardens, museums, and agencies that provide taxonomic, environmental, and specimen-based information.
PLOS One
PLOS One is the single search for the PLOS peer-review Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine.
more...less...
PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.